Thursday, 23 February 2017

The Month Ahead... (March)

My monthly preview feature continues! I actually haven't read any of these yet, but am very excited for all 10.


21st February




A Conjuring of Light by VE Schwab (Tor Books) 
(Yes, I know that last Tuesday isn't TECHNICALLY the month ahead; I messed up on release dates though!)

I adore Kell, Lila and the rest of the cast of characters in VE Schwab's magnificent trilogy, while the world-building is sensationally good across the four Londons. This is one of several series concluding this month where I'm thrilled to see what happens next, but really don't want it to end!


23rd February




The Night Spinner by Abi Elphinstone (Simon & Schuster) 

I am SUPER excited for this one, the climax of brilliant heroine Moll Peckitt's adventures! Also sad to say goodbye to her and the rest of The Tribe, admittedly - but I know Abi will have made the finale an excellent one.





Allegedly by Tiffany Jackson (Katherine Tegen Books) - I think, at least! I'm seeing a couple of different release dates around, but the publisher's UK site has it down as today.

A teenage black girl, convicted of causing the death of a white baby when she was just nine, gets pregnant in this contemporary debut which is getting lots of praise on my Twitter timeline. With the threat of losing her baby, Mary has to find the voice to fight her past. This sounds like a tough, but completely compelling, read.


1st March

Brave Chef Brianna by Sam Sykes (writer) and Selina Espiritu (author) (KaBOOM!) 1 of 4 

I love reading comics but certain companies are losing my interest with the ridiculous amount of crossovers, so I'm sticking to shorter self-contained things for the moment. 4 or 6 issue miniseries are perfect for me, and this story about a girl creating a restaurant to serve food to monsters sounds BRILLIANT.


2nd March




See You In The Cosmos by Jack Cheng (Puffin) 

Road trip novel about an 11-year-old boy wanting to capture recordings of life on Earth on his iPod, then launch it into space so other lifeforms can learn about the planet, sounds joyous and moving - I can't wait to read it!





Exit West - Mohsin Hamid (Hamish Hamilton) 

This novel about two refugees trying to get away from an unnamed country on the brink of civil war, and what happens afterwards, is receiving praise for the gorgeous writing and wonderful characters. It sounds like a must read!


7th March




Dear Ijeawele or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Fourth Estate) 
I loved Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's We Should All Be Feminists, which I read last month. I'm so excited for this new essay, written as a letter to a friend giving her advice on how to raise her newborn baby girl as a feminist.



9th March




Open: A Toolkit for How Magic and Messed Up Life Can Be by Gemma Cairney (Macmillan Children's) 
There never seems to be all that much commercial non-fiction for teens around, but there have been some great exceptions over the last few years - notably Juno Dawson's This Book Is Gay and Mind Your Head, and Siobhan Curham's True Face. This book from Radio 1 agony aunt Gemma Cairney - who was fabulous at last year's YALC - sounds like an excellent addition.




Masquerade by Laura Lam (Pan Macmillan)

I have this at last and am still pinching myself; I have been waiting YEARS for the conclusion of Micah Gray's story after adoring Pantomime and Shadowplay. (I'm also thrilled to be quoted on the back cover of this, a line from my Bookbag review of Pantomime coming just below a quote from a favourite fantasy author of mine, Leigh Bardugo.



US release
28th February




Ten Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac (Alfred A Knopf)

This book about a girl dealing with anxiety and falling in love with a local girl who doesn't seem to worry about anything sounds gorgeous and uplifting. It's being described as perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella's Finding Audrey, which I adored.

7 comments:

  1. super duper excited for allegedly because i have heard such positive things about it!

    xx Anisha @ Sprinkled Pages

    ReplyDelete
  2. I am genuinely thankful to the holder of this web page who has shared this wonderful paragraph at at this place
    buy facebook photo likes 50

    ReplyDelete
  3. Much thanks for composing such an intriguing article on this point. This has truly made me think and I plan to peruse more
    best auto workshop in Texas

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've been looking for info on this topic for a while. I'm happy this one is so great. Keep up the excellent work
    best weight bench for home

    ReplyDelete
  5. Excellent post.I want to thank you for this informative read, I really appreciate sharing this great post.Keep up your work
    beautiful uncertainty pdf

    ReplyDelete
  6. Wonderful blog post. This is absolute magic from you! I have never seen a more wonderful post than this one. You've really made my day today with this. I hope you keep this up!
    cheapest online florist singapore

    ReplyDelete